Bankers Recognized at FBA Annual Meeting

In keeping with tradition, the FBA recently presented awards to a select group of deserving members at its 129th Annual Meeting.  The distinguished awards recognize individuals for their dedication and contributions to the FBA and Florida’s banking industry.  The 2017 award winners are:

Guillermo Diaz-Rousselot, president and CEO of Continental National Bank, was named Banker of the Year. 


The award recognizes an individual who demonstrates the highest level of commitment to the industry and service to his or her community.  Not only has he been a longtime and active member of the FBA, but he has continuously demonstrated a dedication and concern for the continued success of banking. 

Miller Couse, chairman and CEO of First Bank, Clewiston and former FBA chairman, was presented a Lifetime Achievement Award. 


The FBA’s Lifetime Achievement Award, which was established in 2011, is determined by the FBA Executive Committee and presented on a periodic basis to someone who has dedicated his or her professional life to the banking industry in general and has had a significant impact on the Florida banking industry specifically. 

Bill Penney, president and CEO of Marine Bank & Trust, was presented the Chairman’s Award. 


The award is given to a recipient selected by the outgoing FBA Chairman, in this case Bud Stalnaker, to honor someone who has gone above and beyond to support the FBA.  Penney was selected in part because of his continuous support to the association as well as his engagement in FBA committees and events.

Arnold Evans, executive vice president and enterprise ethics officer of SunTrust Banks, Inc., was given the Horizon Award. 


The recipient is selected because of his or her outstanding dedication to the FBA and the goals and objectives set forth by the association.  Evans was recognized as a banker who has gone above and beyond the expectations of others.  For “soaring” above expectations, the Horizon Award winner is presented with a golden eagle trophy.

The FBA is proud to recognize these outstanding leaders of Florida’s banking industry who represent the great work of all Florida bankers.